Fray Block…What is that?

Have you ever tried sewing on fabric that frays and ravels on you? There’s usually a big mess of tangled threads that get in your way. Many store bought garments pop out at the seams because  the seam allowance was very narrow to begin with and the fabric started fraying. 

So, let’s fix that.

Have you heard of Fray Block?

sewing blog 161

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I don’t mean Fray Check:

 

fray check

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I used Fray Check for years, but it always left behind a harsh, crusty, scratchy feel to it and if you used it in a garment where it touched your skin, it would irritate you all day long.

So, I tried Fray Block when a sales clerk at JoAnn Fabrics gave me the tip. By the way, you can buy it at JoAnn Fabrics (the store) or JoAnn Fabrics online .

Begin by poking a tiny hole at the end of the tube. You apply it the same way as you do Fray Check…with the tip of the tube against the fabric. I don’t even squeeze the tube because it comes out faster than you think. So, be prepared!

Try using it on a scrap piece of fabric (especially if what you’re working on is an expensive fabric or is irreplaceable). If you don’t have a scrap, try it on a seam allowance.

You gotta move quickly because if you leave it at one spot too long, it may leak and leave a big puddle on your fabric. Sometimes that puddle can migrate past the seam allowance, so that is why using a scrap is so important until you get the hang of it.

Always put a piece of thick paper behind the fabric you’re working on so it doesn’t leak through and cause you problems.

Do you see the tip of the tube on the upper left side of this photo? I ran the tip along the edge of the fabric. I didn’t move very quickly because I was trying to use the Fray Block with my left hand while taking a photo with my right hand. But you get the idea.

 

sewing blog 162

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sometimes it makes sense to put some of the Fray Block on a Q-tip first and then apply it.

After your test piece has dried (which takes about ten minutes), make sure it looks good to you before you try it on the garment or craft project you are working on.

When it is dry, it should look like this: 

 

sewing blog 167 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It should be soft to the touch.

You’ll want to store the tube in an upright position so it doesn’t clog the tip. I store mine in my pencil keeper right next to my machine.

Well, there you have it……. A fabulous way to keep fabric from fraying!

5 Responses

  1. Wow that does look better than Fray Check. I never knew there was anything else. TFS

  2. I will try this product for unhemmed kites.

  3. Have you used this on Burlap? If so, any tips you can send my way?

Leave a Reply

