How To Make Pillows Fast!

Because we have a wedding in 2 months,

because my outdoor pillows and cushions are completely sunfaded,

and because I had about twenty minutes on my hands,

I decided it was time to recover them.

Heads up: There won’t be any zippers, velcro, snaps, buttons, or anything!

Are you game?

Ok, let’s talk fabric.

I know there are fabrics on the market that claim to be sun resistant, but they are $20 per yard.

So, each year, I choose fabrics that I like that are dirt cheap and on sale.

And each year I have to recover them because the indirect sun bleaches the tar out of them.

So, my advice is: pick what you like, taking into consideration your budget, the location of the pillows, the durability factor and the colors you like.

Here’s a photo of one of the old faded pillow covers..

I’ve folded the front back a little so you can see the difference between the front and back:

Basically, I make what they call envelope pillows.

There are probably a bunch of other names for these as well.

I buy pillow forms (or you can make them) in the sizes I want from Joann Fabrics.

Then, I just create  a pattern that will fit the pillow.

The idea is to make the finished cover a little smaller in dimensions, than the pillow form, all the way around so they fit nicely and not too loosely.

You’ll see later, that because I have been tracing my pillows for about four years, mine have gotten a little too big, but you won’t make the same mistake I did.

I want to start with making the first pillow using a very basic patchwork look.

All you serious quilters out there better not look at this.

It will make you cringe.

But, hey, this will work and time is of the essence, right?

Here’s the beginning of the first cover:

As you can see, I cut out a square of the flowery fabric. Then I sewed borders to the sides and then borders to the top and bottom edges.

(The finished cut dimensions are supposed to be about a half inch less all around than the pillow form.

Then, we will use a half inch seam allowance making the cover about an inch smaller than the form.)

Here’s how the back looks:

I know. I used the selvedge.

Sorry, that is lame, but it was  because I was too lazy (and rushed) to cut it off.

But, if you think anyone you know is going to look inside your pillow to see how you made it, you better cut off the selvedges.

Next, I lay out the fabric I will use for a backing:

See how I cut it even with the front on 3 sides?

That fourth side needs to extend about half of what the length of the pillow is.

SO, if this pillow is 12″, extend it up about 6 more inches.

I just eyeball it. Don’t worry about it. You’ll be close enough.

Pull the front of the pillow away.

Now, cut the backing into two separate pieces, only they should not be equal in size. One should be longer than the other.

Offset it a bit.

The picture below shows that I turned the piece of fabric before I cut it.

Serge or zig zag the edges of each fabric piece, if you like, to keep them from unravelling.

Now, fold back one cut edge of the backing fabric and lay it down over the front of the pillow, right sides facing each other. Be sure to line up the 3 edges:

Next, lay the other backing piece over the top of all of this right sides facing each other:

Pin the edges together and sew all the way around the pillow with a one half inch seam allowance:

Turn the pillow right side out and stick in your pillow form.

That one is finished.

Solid One Piece Pillow:

Let’s make a simpler pillow next.

This one is made with one long continuous piece of fabric going across the width of the fabric.

I lay the original old pillow cover on my new fabric. You can also just use the pillow form if you like.

I fold the new fabric in thirds. Do you see how the selvedges don’t line up? That’s what you want.

Again, you can cut off the selvedges if you want.

You may need to cut them off if you are making a smaller pillow than I am here.

Because it’s one long piece of fabric, all you have to do is fold that fabric in thirds, just like in the photo above and pin it on the sides:

On this pillow cover, you only have to stitch down the two sides (because the other two sides are folded edges).

Use a half inch seam allowance again.

Turn the cover right side out.

Do you see how the one edge covers the other one that is underneath?

Insert the pillow form.

How long did this last one take you?

Six minutes?

Isn’t that awesome?

Make a few more and you’ll be set for the summer!

10 Responses

  1. That´s great! Am off to recover my cushions now! Have lots of them, so will be able to get some good practice. Glad I came across your blog, will be back for more soon.

  2. Thank you for coming by my blog! I sew, but I am not as experienced as you. Now that the home school season is over, I hope to learn a few more tricks! I’ll be checking in each day! :) Have a blessed weekend. ~ Ruth

    • Hi Ruth,
      I didn’t expect you to stop in here. What a treat! Thank you. I hope to stop in and read your blog more too. I hope you have a blessed weekend too!
      Linda

  3. I’m so glad you said just what I always think!!!
    “But, if you think anyone you know is going to look inside your pillow to see how you made it, you better cut off the selvedges.”
    LOL!! And it’s not lame at all! Thanks for the chuckle and I have always loved the envelope pillow cover, my Mom made these too, many years ago!

    • Hi,
      Not many daughters like to sew if their mom’s did, so I’m impressed you are sewing and how fun to hear that your mom always made her pillows this way too They are sure a time saver!
      Glad the post made you laugh.

      Have a great day and thanks for leaving a comment!
      Linda

  4. Awesome!!!!!!!!!!
    Clever!!!!!!!!!
    Looks Great and you are a time saver!!!!!!

  5. Great pillow idea. Was just given approx 12 green rubbish bags full of upholstery sample I know what to do! Your hint about the blood on wedding dress is an old Victorian dressmakers remedy..and I thought I was the only one who sliced and pricked. The secret to this is if it’s your blood it must be your saliva to make it disappear!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 205 other followers