Mending a bed sheet

Can you save the planet by mending one bed sheet? Probably not, but it will save you alot of money to do it yourself and repurpose it.

I have a large hole in one of my bedsheets. Typically, my washing machine eats these on a regular basis if I don’t have a full load. I could just zig zag over the hole, but that would not leave it flat and chances are, it would tear again very soon because it would be weak where I stitched it. This is what happened the last time I tried to fix it. (See photo below) I did put a plush piece of thermolam under the previous hole and tightly zig zagged over the rip, but it wasn’t stable enough with all the washings. SO, now we’re going to get serious.

 

sewing-blog-010

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Who wants a weak and wimpy bed sheet?

Wimpy, wimpy, wimpy.

Ok, here’s how to fix it. Get out a scrap piece of cloth that closely matches said bed sheet. Wait a minute, who is going to see this thing anyway? No one. So, get out any scrap piece of fabric, the crazier the better. The only recommendation I have is that you find a soft piece in case your little toes, fingers or nose rub up against it in the night.

 

 

Mine has to match because my mom was a neat freak and I inherited the gene, and even though she’ll never see it because she’s been gone 15 years, this is how it has to be.

Hey, you never forget what your mom taught you.

 

First, cut the fabric to be a little larger than the area you are mending. Now, if you have a serger, serge around the edges. If you have a regular sewing machine, zig zag around all the edges. Now, pin the patch over the hole. Your pins should be perpendicular to the line that you will sew. This is so when you get close to the pin, a) you can pull it out easily and b) if you do happen to run over the pin, chances are better that you won’t break it. Now don’t run over your pins. It’s a bad habit.

 

sewing-blog-011

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Plus, if you sew over pins, you’ll have to wear eye protection. Don’t argue with me on this one! I’ve sewn for 41 years now. I’ve had a few pins and needles break and one got awfully close to my left eyeball. Plus these are a fashion statement, don’t you think?

 

sewing-blog-017

 

 

 

 

 

There’s the 1970′s John Denver look.

Or, remember the cute kid on Kramer vs. Kramer?

Very retro.

 

 

sewing-blog-018

 

 

 

 

 

 

Or, there’s the “I’m not a grandma, but need magnifiers” look.

 

 

sewing-blog-019

 

 

 

 

Or, there’s the “I found these in the garage on my husband’s work bench and he’ll never notice they’re gone” model.

 

Ok, if you’re still with me, and I don’t see why not, the next step is to sew around the perimeter of the patch close to the edge. If you feel insecure about this, go around a second time.

 

sewing-blog-012

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then, stitch across the patch (just eyeball it…remember no one is gong to see this because you’re not going to use these for guest sheets, right? Right.)

 

 

sewing-blog-015

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then, turn the patch the other direction and stitch across in vertical rows going this way. Now it looks like a sewn grid. Perfect. That’s how you want it to look.

 

 

sewing-blog-016

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now, if you want it to be super durable (and I should think you do. Afterall, it’s alot easier now than down the road. For heaven’s sake, you already have it under the machine!) Repeat the process entirely by putting another patch on the other side of the sheet, covering all the work you just did and do it again. If you’re particular, do the backside first and then the front. If you do it that way, you’ll see this (photo above) on the top side.

 

Now, get out there and do some arm bending sheet mending!

13 Responses

  1. Hi, cool post. I have been wondering about this issue,so thanks for writing. I’ll certainly be coming back to your site. Keep up the good work

  2. Very great products & designs .
    As they said healthy clothes are cotton made .
    Long time & safe using for old and children men or women

    http://cottonnthings.ecrater.com

  3. Thanks for the post- you present it in a very friendly and approachable fashion.
    Today our toddler decided to take the scissors to the bed sheet instead of his construction paper, and managed to get pretty far before we looked up. We’re debating between fabric glue, iron-on patches, and the sewing, but we need to figure it out by bed-time tonight!

  4. Thank you for this post. I’m going to give it a try! I’ve looked at other tutorials, and this has the best looking, sturdiest outcome. Thanks for posting this.

  5. Hey! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace group?
    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Thank you

    • I’m glad you have enjoyed the content on my blog and I’d love you to spread the word! You are welcome to send a link to the blog or if you mention some information you got from my blog on your myspace page, please give me the credit…thanks so much!

  6. This is great. My 93 year old grandma just asked me to repair her threadbare sheet and I was pretty sure I would stump google for the first time ever. But no, I found this post instead. Thanks and I love the bit about safety glasses.
    Lindsay

  7. Thanks for the info on repairing the sheet. Had a general idea of how to do it but thought there might be a new product out there. Guess there’s no easier way other than old fashion sewing which I CAN do. Again, thanks for the blog.

  8. Love your great sense of humor! Thanks for the help!

  9. You have convinced me that I can do this! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 215 other followers